My List: Best of 2014

Since the film season for those living outside of the US has some release date delays, I’ve had to let the season run until March 2015 in order to see most of 2014’s films. Hence, with a little delay, here is my Best of 2014 list:

Top 10 Films

1. Birdman

One of the first times my favourite film also wins the Best Film Oscar for that year. Birdman is incredible, thanks to its originality, writing, cinematography and brilliant acting. It was also beautifully entertaining. Without a doubt my nr 1.

2. Whiplash

High-paced, intense and engaging. I was on the edge of my seat watching Whiplash, and clapped when the credits rolled. I watched it again with similar pleasure a week later. Great film.

3. The Grand Budapest Hotel

Have always been a fan of Wes Anderson, and this is one of his best. Funny, quirky and beautifully made.

4. Locke

Tom Hardy’s one man show is an actor’s masterclass in how to engage an audience. It’s very intense and Hardy kept me glued to the screen.

5. Under the Skin

One of the most unusual and eerie films I’ve seen, and I could not stop watching. It does what the title suggests, and I loved it.

6. Nightcrawler

Jake Gyllenhaal again shows his class as one of the best actors around. Nightcrawler is uber cool and dark, and has one of the most intense car chases since Drive.

7. The Skeleton Twins

Bill Hader and Kristen Wiig carry this dramedy with impeccable chemistry. What a joy are they to watch on screen. Skeleton Twins was moving and funny, and is definitely underrated.

8. Interstellar

Visually great, and immensely ambitious

9. Guardians of the Galaxy

Hands down the most entertaining blockbuster of the year.

10. Gone Girl

Twisting and turning, Gone Girl is one awesome thriller

Best Acting Peformances

1. Tom Hardy, ‘Locke’

2. Jake Gyllenhaal, ‘Nightcrawler’

3. Patricia Arguette, ‘Boyhood’

4. Mark Ruffalo, ‘Foxcatcher’

5. J.K. Simmons, ‘Whiplash’

6. Bill Hader, ‘Skeleton Twins’

7. Steve Carrell, ‘Foxcatcher’

8. Edward Norton, ‘Birdman’

9. David Oyelowo, ‘Selma’

10. Scarlett Johansson, ‘Under the Skin’

Leave a comment